Every dance floor needs a dancer…

“I’m not so interested in how they move as in what moves them.” – Pina Bausch

Tanztheater Wuppertal
“It began with controversy; in 1973 Pina Bausch was appointed director of dance for the Wuppertal theatres and the form she developed in those early years, a mixture of dance and theatre, was wholly unfamiliar. In her performances the players did not merely dance; they spoke, sang – and sometimes they cried or laughed too. But this strange new work succeeded in establishing itself. In Wuppertal the seeds were sown for a revolution which was to emancipate and redefine dance throughout the world. Dance theatre evolved into a unique genre, inspiring choreographers throughout the world and influencing theatre and classical ballet too.

[…] Its global success can be attributed to the fact that Pina Bausch made a universal need the key subject of her work: the need for love, for intimacy and emotional security. To this end she developed an artistic form which could incorporate highly diverse cultural influences. In consistently renewed poetic excursions she investigated what brings us closer to fulfilling our need for love, and what distances us from it.” 

text from: http://www.pina-bausch.de     Credit: Photo: #3: Tristram Kenton

 

“Dance, Dance, otherwise we are lost.” ~ Pina Bausch

To live is to dream, to dream ~ is to find reality in surrealism… Every dance floor needs a dancer, Happy belated Birthday.

 

2 thoughts on “Every dance floor needs a dancer…

  1. Expressing yourself in the dance is perhaps the most difficult of disciplines, have to Overcome resistance, try to look for the most appropriate ways as Pina said: “I start with no tools, no weapons beyond feeling inside me, it which there is no corresponding word or image “.
    I think if I did not choose my profession, maybe I decided just dancing.
    That’s what I recognized in her performances, is the fact That it leaves the viewer with a vague feeling of uncertainty. Characters are heavily scratched, every move refined, but not for championship. After watching the show the audience feel as if they survived the catharsis.
    When I saw Café Müller I was shocked, I left the theater feeling that it is difficult to return to reality. I’d rather go back and be among these characters, in this music, and try flowing in this dance.

    I know that the next performance will be unique in many respects.
    I am sure that my experience will be stronger than usual.
    Beautiful Post my Dear LadyWithLilies
    Smiling at you! Zawsze!

    • Thank you so much 😉 Your knowledge and great appreciation for music, theatre, film… all performance art and dance, is inspiring. There is no material object that could possibly replace the experience of such great emotion felt during a live performance like this; we seem to share that philosophy too. Perhaps a good reason why I have a small ticket-addiction before a shoe or handbag obsession 😉 I’m sure you will understand, smiling back. Keep Dancing!

Leave a Reply

